Representation. Results. Recovery.
Aurora Workers’ Compensation Lawyers
What Is Workers Compensation and How Does it Work?
If you or someone close to you has been injured on the job, it must be reported within 30 days to be eligible for workers’ compensation. Most employers are required by law to make provision for employee injury by paying for workers’ compensation insurance in order to cover employee medical care expenses and partial payment of wages.
However, some employers are not required to have workers’ compensation by Missouri law. These include:
- Employers of farm laborers
- Employers of domestic servants
- Employers of occasional laborers in a private home (i.e. a handyman)
- Some non-profit volunteer workers
This compensation is paid in exchange for the employee’s agreement not to sue the company for damages.
In order to qualify for workers’ compensation, you must prove:
- You are an employee of a company that has workers’ comp insurance
- You were injured on the job, as the result of work-related duties.
- You were not being negligent or ignoring safety protocols at the time of the accident
At Pettit Law Office, our skilled workers' compensation attorneys in Aurora are committed to providing the help you need. Call us at (417) 222-6640 to schedule your free initial consultation.
We routinely handle workplace injury cases involving:
- Industrial accidents
- Chemical exposure
- Serious head injuries
- Repetitive motion injuries
- Carpal tunnel
- Back injuries
- Slip and falls
- Knee and leg injuries
- Shoulder and arm injuries
Helping Workers Maintain Their Rights Since 1957
You may find yourself in a situation where your employer is being evasive or unhelpful despite your meeting the above qualifications. If this is the case, Pettit Law Office wants to help you avoid losing your rightful benefits.
Often, workers are hesitant to report work injuries because they are concerned about how their employers will react. You should know that if you decide to report a work injury and you apply for workers’ compensation, it is illegal for your employer to retaliate against you.
An employer who willfully refuses to provide Workers’ Comp insurance is committing a Class A misdemeanor that makes them liable for three times the employee’s original claim or $50,000. Don’t let an employer discourage you from collecting your legal rights.
Let Us Advocate for Your Rights While You Heal
Being put out of work by an injury is always difficult and stressful. Having that injury happen at work is especially so if your employer is not cooperating with your needs. Let the personal injury lawyers at Pettit Law Office help you understand your options and navigate the legal system during your recovery! Our highly experienced accident lawyers believe strongly in treating our clients with compassion while advocating forcefully for their rights in the courts.
Our Aurora workers' compensation lawyers advocate strongly for victims and have recovered millions of dollars on their behalf. Call Pettit Law Office at (417) 222-6640 for a free case evaluation today.
Committed to serving the local community in & out of court.
Spanish language option available for clients who need it.
Long track record of successful verdicts & settlements.
Lawyers & paralegals approach each case with compassion.
Direct access to the same attorney from start to finish.
Lawyers work closely with each client on a case-by-case basis.
Decades of injury law experience.
Southwestern Missouri Location in Aurora
All attorneys have trial experience & are prepared to go to trial.