Handling Felony and Misdemeanor Litigation in Southwest Missouri
If you have been arrested for a crime, you may never see the inside of a courtroom. The charges against you could even be reduced or dropped altogether. This does not mean, though, that your defense attorney should not be fully prepared to take your case to trial.
At Pettit & Pettit, Attorneys at Law, our Aurora criminal defense litigation attorneys prepare each and every criminal case as if it will go to court. We do not shy away from trial.
Call and discuss your case with a trained paralegal. These is no charge for this initial consultation. We can be reached at 417-737-7154.
Missouri Felony Offenses
Our criminal defense attorneys can build a strong defense on your behalf. Conviction of a felony offense carries harsh penalties, as shown below:
- Maximum penalty for a Class A felony is death or imprisonment for 10 to 30 years. Examples include second-degree murder and first-degree robbery.
- Maximum penalty for a Class B felony is imprisonment for five to 15 years. Examples include voluntary manslaughter, second-degree robbery and first-degree burglary.
- Maximum penalty for a Class C felony is imprisonment for up to seven years and fines up to $5,000. Examples include involuntary manslaughter, stealing and second-degree assault.
- Maximum penalty for a Class D felony is imprisonment for up to four years and a fine of up to $5,000. Examples include fraud and passing a bad check.
When so much is on the line, you can trust that our criminal defense trial attorneys will vigorously protect your rights, freedoms and future.
Missouri Misdemeanor Offenses
Conviction of misdemeanor offenses includes:
- Maximum penalty for a Class A misdemeanor is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Examples include fraud, passing bad checks and third-degree assault.
- Maximum penalty for a Class B misdemeanor is jail time is up to six months and a fine of up to $500. An example includes first-offense DWI/DUI.
- Maximum penalty for a Class C misdemeanor is jail time up to 15 days and a fine of up to $300. An example includes driving with excessive BAC (blood alcohol content). As skilled DWI defense attorneys, we have been successful in reducing the charges from a Class B to a Class C misdemeanor.
Marionville Felony & Misdemeanor Defense Lawyer
Pettit & Pettit, Attorneys at Law is prepared to defend you against felony or misdemeanor charges in court. As trial attorneys, we know how to build a strong defense and argue for you before a judge and jury.
Pettit & Pettit, Attorneys at Law offers free initial telephone consultations with a trained paralegal. To schedule yours, please call 417-737-7154. You may also contact us online. Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., with evening and weekend appointments available upon request.